Damaged, fine hair that’s falling out?

My hair has always been very fine (thanks mum!) and easily broken, but over the past 9 months or so, it’s gotten even worse. My boyfriend is repulsed by the amount of hair I have to pull out of the plug hole every single time I wash my hair! 

I’ve looked into it and to be honest, so many things can contribute to hair loss. Diet, stress, medication, products, heat. The list goes on and on. Overall, I eat well and I don’t tend to use too much heat on my hair. I’ve even stopped getting it dyed, as much as I love balayage, the bleach was not helping my hair! I have put my recent increase in hairloss down to medication. I was taking Beta Blockers to help with my migraines and the POP contraceptive pill. Hair loss isn’t a major side effect of either, I was just unlucky and my hair started falling out in clumps. Thankfully I haven’t noticed any bald spots yet but I figured if I don’t change something, and fast, I’d definitely find one!

So first things first, I’ve completely ditched my straighteners. I was using the GHD Eclipse styler and it was my best friend, but some friendships need to be broken. It’s been sat in my bottom drawer in my dressing room (I say dressing room, it’s the box room that I’ve taken over with my dressing table and makeup) since early December.

Next step, choosing hair products that would help repair my hair and not just mask over the real problem. After spending a good half an hour in Boots (they literally always have either a 3 for 2 offer or buy 1 get 1 half price), reading the back of about 12 different shampoos, I settled on the Charles Worthington Salon at Home Strength and Repair range. Now the whole range of products smell amazing. I could massage the shampoo into my scalp for hours if I had the time, it smells just like the hairdressers.

With the shampoo, I always do this twice, just to really make sure all of the product is out and my hair is left feeling squeaky clean. I don’t know if this actually helps, but if I only shampoo once, I always run out of conditioner before shampoo and that drives me crazy! I really massage shampoo into my scalp with my finger tips, this helps with blood flow and in turn should help with hair growth, and it helps it get a really good lather. Then I rinse until the water runs clear and is completely free from bubbles.


With conditioner, I have to really stop myself from using too much as it tends to weigh down my hair and make it generally just look rubbish. So only a small amount, I go for around a blob around about the size of a fifty pence piece, and I run this through my hair from about half way, completely avoiding my roots and concentrating on the (dry and bleached) tips. I leave this on for a few minutes while I clean my body so that it has time to do its thing then rinse rinse rinse! I really don’t want to leave any conditioner in my hair accidentally as it’ll just make my hair look greasy and lank.


When I get out of the shower I give my hair a gentle squeeze to get rid of the excess water, then I pat it dry with a towel. I used to really rub my hair dry but that just makes it break even more! Then I use the scalp tonic, applying it directly to my scalp then I gently massage it in using my finger tips. This product is one of those things, I’m not sure if it actually makes a difference on its own, but it does feel like all this scalp massaging is good for my head so I’ll go along with it!


Then finally, the last product, Heat Defence Spray. After putting GHDs on my hair almost every day for the past 7 or 8 years, I really can’t afford to skip this step. I apply it liberally, but again, avoiding my roots, then I brush it through before styling.


When it comes to blow drying my hair, I’m lazy. Really lazy. Most days I will wash my hair at the night and then only partially dry it and go to bed and hope for the best. I’ll only really blow dry it properly if I’m going “out out”. As lazy as that makes me, it also means my hair isn’t getting abused by heat for long so I think lazy can be good in this case!

I’m pretty sure that cutting out straighteners, embracing my natural colour and always using a heat protector spray is going to have a good effect on my hair but I will do another post once I’ve used these products for a few months to see if they do actually do what they say on the bottle.

Let me know what you think and if you want to see anything else in the comments!

Follow me on social media Instagram // Twitter

Thanks for reading, beauts

Alex xx

Leave a Reply

